baby, Logan

Get your baby to sleep – In under 10 days

*In this post I will be talking about sleep training methods, but I am in no way promoting it as not all babies take to the same way, so use what I say with a pinch of salt/try a few methods to see which one works for you and your baby*

I don’t know about you but I thought the whole process of getting your baby to fall asleep on their own would be a momentous task, especially if you’ve always rocked/hushed/sang them to sleep, so when I started sleep training with Logan I was very surprised with the results and how quickly I saw an improvement in the amount of sleep he was getting at night.

What is sleep training – from what I read; it’s the process of helping a baby learn to fall asleep on their own and stay asleep through the night (however there are several methods to choose and it’s important to pick the right one for you and your partner/family)

The reason why I wanted/needed to start the whole sleep training process with Logan was because, well for one I had just moved him into his own room and I didn’t fancy waking up and going back and to several times a night just to cuddle him back to sleep, and secondly because I wanted him to learn to fall asleep on his own as it is an important skill for all babies to learn.

What sleep training method did I use – I actually didn’t use just one method I use a combination of methods, but I like to call it the “Gentle cry it out method” rather than me explaining and making a complete tit of myself I’ll just bullet point exactly what I do with him that helps him fall asleep.

  • Bath/playtime/bottle
  • Story/song
  • Turn on ewan the dream sheep
  • Put Logan down awake, say goodnight and walk out of the room
  • Wait 5 minutes to see if he starts crying if so go back in and replace dummy, and walk back out again (at the beginning I had to go back in a good 5/6 times until he fell asleep independently but now about 3 weeks later I only have to go back in once or not at all)
  • If Logan wakes up during the night – usually about 1 or 2 am I go back in comfort him/replace dummy and turn ewan the dream sheep back on (this usually takes about 5 minutes before he’s resettled and then I walk out and he’s back to sleep until 3 or 4 am for a bottle and then he goes back down until 6/7/8 am depending on how he’s slept that specific night.
  • And that’s it! (Using this above method, it only took me about 1 week until I saw instant changes/improvements in logan’s sleep)

That is what I have been doing, and it has worked for me, it isn’t nice hearing him cry but honestly its worse for us than it is them, I mean I don’t leave him to cry if he’s hungry or got a full nappy but if I know he’s fulfilled then there’s no harm in letting him try to settle himself back to sleep (I mean that’s the aim here!)

It’s now been nearly 1 month of sleep training and I’m proud to say that I have noticed a significant improvement in both mine and my fiancés sleep and also more importantly Logan’s sleep has improved too because we’re not disrupting each other. I’m not gonna lie, it’s not perfect and Logan has had his nights where he just wasn’t settling and I did bring him into my bed, but that was when he was teething, even now 1 month on he still hasn’t slept through the night and you know what I’m still alive and coping and still getting through my day without feeling like a failure, I just think of how lucky I am because most older babies still wake every 1 or 2 hours.

If you are currently in the process of sleep training, what method do you use and how long did it take you to get your little ones to fall asleep on their own?

1 thought on “Get your baby to sleep – In under 10 days”

  1. I never let Dex cry but I’ve seen a vast improvement on the time it takes him to fall asleep since I started letting him ‘moan it out’. I realised that he needs a good ten minute moan and shout to fall asleep. Me going back in to see what was wrong was disrupting this process. Of course, if he starts crying I go back in to soothe but most of the time now he is asleep in ten minutes or less.

    I’m glad you’ve found a method that works for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

